Alabama Medicaid and the Primary: Follow-up


I posted two days ago to alert you to Parker Griffith’s plan for Fake Medicaid and to suggest the choice is not between that and fake/no Medicaid from Governor Bentley. There are other candidates, and there is also the possibility of strong pressure convincing Griffith or Bentley to change course if you get busy.

Because I criticized the plans or non-plans of those two, I think it is only fair to let you know about the press release from Kevin Bass yesterday, especially since the corporate media have not mentioned it.  I agree with everything he says, except the part about Fake Medicaid being a Republican plan.  Where these plans have been adopted, it has been in large part due to Democrat support, based on a false choice. I’ll repeat that it isn’t conservative at all, nor is it a better-than-nothing compromise of liberals—it is just a plain scam.

I don’t plan to participate in the primaries.  I don’t support the overall agenda of either party or their general non-responsiveness to voters.  I’m sticking with my intention to support decent independents or write-ins in the general election, and if you want to argue with me about vote-wasting, look me up on Facebook.  If enough of you put your foot down that way, we could see much better choices on our ballots. I do most of my political participation between elections.

I’d love to see a guy like Bass run as an Independent, and if he ever does, I’ll likely vote for him and campaign for him.  If I were a Democrat, I’d vote for him in the primary.  I’ve put a query in to Stacy Lee George in the Republican Primary regarding his position on Medicaid—he’s said publicly he is for the Expansion, but he hasn’t given specifics.  I’ll let you know what he says, if I get an answer.  I can’t even find a website or FB page to contact Bob Starkey, so I don’t suppose he is a serious candidate.  Please let me know if you learn otherwise.

Here is an excerpt from the Bass press release:

“Parker Griffith’s plan to pay third-party insurers to run an expanded Medicaid program in Alabama would waste Medicaid funds that otherwise could be – and should be – used for medical care and could subject them to fees that would discourage them from seeking care, charges Kevin Bass, Democratic candidate for governor.

‘Democrats have challenged Gov. Bentley’s unacceptable refusal to expand Medicaid,’ Bass says. ‘But instead of trying to maximize the funding available to our citizens, Griffith wants to let private insurers line their own pockets by spending as little as they can get away with.’”

3 Comments

Filed under Alabama Politics, Healthcare reform, Medicaid

3 responses to “Alabama Medicaid and the Primary: Follow-up

  1. Charles King

    Hi Pippa Good to hear from you and I trust you are well. Call you later today. Charles

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

  2. Richard Allen

    Dr. Abston,

    Bulls-Eye !!

    Richard Allen

  3. Richard Allen

    Dr. Abston,

    You are right on target.

    Richard Allen.

Leave a Reply

